Landing Nav

Site Breadcrumb

College Counseling

Cum Laude Society Seal

Carrollwood Day School is the most recent secondary school in the United States to be inducted into the Cum Laude Society. This is the highest and most prestigious academic honor a secondary school can earn in the United States. Carrollwood Day School is 1 of 3 secondary schools in Florida and 1 of 15 in the United States (out of 27,000 public, private, and charter schools) to earn Cum Laude Society membership and be an IB (International Baccalaureate) qualified institution.

College Representatives

Thank you for your interest in visiting Carrollwood Day School. We look forward to seeing you soon! Click here to request a visit, read our school profile, and see a campus map.

College Counseling Timeline

The Carrollwood Day School college counseling department believes that planning for a collegiate career should start before the upper school journey begins, which is why we have a very unique timeline for college planning. Read more about how the CDS specialized program starts in 8th grade.

Financial Aid and Bright Futures

Families often ask about Financial Aid and what the process looks like. Read more about the types of financial aid available and how to determine what will work for your student and family.

Carrollwood Day School's college counseling philosophy centers on a five-year developmental program that is designed to deconstruct and demystify what has become a complex process involving many moving pieces. We holistically invest in “slow dripping” information to parents and students as they begin their tenure in the upper school. It is our goal to discover the most competitive match/fit for each CDS student. As college students spend 90% of their time outside the classroom, it is imperative to not only seek a challenging and scholarly environment, but one that feels comfortable and manageable both inside and outside the classroom. 

CollegeStats

100%

2019 graduates admitted to a 4-year college or university

97%

2019 graduates admitted to a Phi Beta Kappa institution, representing the top 290 schools in the U.S.

93%

2019 graduates received at least one unsolicited merit-based scholarship

5

2019 graduates acceptances to international schools

2019

CDS was accepted into the Cum Laude Society. This is the most prestigious academic award a secondary school can earn.

219

Different college and universities were applied to by class of 2019

$15M+

2019 graduates were awarded in unsolicited merit-based scholarship offers

$163,500

Average four-year award per 2019 graduate

 

MEET THE COLLEGE COUNSELING TEAM

Joseph Runge
Dawn Bickoff Senior Associate Director of College Counseling
Drew Guarino Associate Director of College Counseling
Danielle Cohen, College Counseling Associate

RECENT ACCEPTANCES

"Our position on the college admissions process centers on discovering the most competitive match/fit for each student." 
Joe Runge, Director of College Counseling

See Full Listing of Colleges

Northwestern University
Cornell
Emory University
UC Berkeley
Georgetown University
USC
University of Michigan
UNC Chapel Hill
Carleton College
Middlebury College
Colby College
Colgate
College of William & Mary
Tulane University
Tufts University

College Counseling Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jul 26
Mon, Jul 27
Tue, Jul 28
Wed, Jul 29
Thu, Jul 30
Fri, Jul 31
Sat, Aug 1
Sun, Aug 2
Mon, Aug 3
Tue, Aug 4
College Application & Essay Party
-
Rooms H129, H132, H136, & H137
Wed, Aug 5
Thu, Aug 6
Fri, Aug 7
Sat, Aug 8
Sun, Aug 9
Mon, Aug 10
Tue, Aug 11
Wed, Aug 12
Thu, Aug 13
Fri, Aug 14
Sat, Aug 15
Sun, Aug 16
Mon, Aug 17
Tue, Aug 18
Wed, Aug 19
Thu, Aug 20
Fri, Aug 21
Sat, Aug 22
Sun, Aug 23
Mon, Aug 24
Tue, Aug 25
Wed, Aug 26
Thu, Aug 27
Fri, Aug 28
Sat, Aug 29
Sun, Aug 30
Mon, Aug 31
Tue, Sep 1
Wed, Sep 2
Thu, Sep 3
Fri, Sep 4
Sat, Sep 5

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • College Counseling Calendar
    • Graduation cap College Visits & Fairs
    • Exlamation Testing Dates
    • Group Parent Meetings